Majulah Walk & Run for National Day

A run where I could just walk to the starting line from home.

The Majulah Walk & Run this National Day morning started from the Choa Chu Kang Stadium and ended at Gain City Megastore @ Sungei Kadut.

I joined the 8km run

Even my New Balance shoes were patriotic.

Minister Lawrence Wong flagged off the 8km run at 8am.

I bumped into my ex-secondary school classmate, Chin Hau (again!), at the stadium. Don’t know why even though he moved out of Yew Tee more than 10 years ago, he still volunteers at the community sports club.

Crossing the road to Pang Sua Canal, my regular training route.

Water, anyone?

Just strolling along the Rail Corridor with a flag on his head like nobody’s business.

It was good weather for a run. No rain and not too hot.

There used to be an outdoor brothel that operated at night in this area which I jogged by a couple of times.

Heading into Sungei Kadut.

Back to the canal again.

Turning into Sungei Kadut again.

Here was where the 8km runners and the 3km walkers merged, causing a bottleneck.

Then it was an open road to the end.

The Gain City Megastore. I don’t understand the van either.

There appeared to be two finish lines,

France won the World Coke, I mean, Cup.

I would feel sorry for anyone who had to massage my feet.

Really long queue for the Milo van.

And of course, the obligatory selfie with the ambulance.

Happy National Day!

Leave a comment